New PhD student Lynn Foster

IMG_135836683967175-1
Where are you from and where did you get your first degree?
I am originally from Leicester and got my degree from the University of Leicester. I studied Biological Sciences, my modules focused on environmental microbiology, virology and genetics.
What will you be researching in your PhD?
My PhD title is “Understanding microbial productivity in highly radioactive nuclear facilities”. I will be looking at the genomes of microorganisms. Following this I will look at the RNA and proteins that they produce, with the aim of trying to understand some processes that allow them to survive in highly radioactive environments.
What do you like doing when you are not doing ground breaking research in the Manchester geomicro group?
My hobbies- I like going to festivals in the summer, horses and horsey activities like shows and demonstrations.
Do you have a favourite microbe?
My favourite microbe – a bit difficult to say, I guess anything that falls into the category of extremophile. I was also really interested in the discovery of Pithovirus – which is the largest known virus that was revived from Stone Age permafrost. I like the stuff that challenges what we know about the limitations of life.

Leave a comment