New Post Doc: Lynn Foster

I am originally from Leicester and got my degree from the University of Leicester. I studied Biological Sciences, my modules focused on environmental microbiology, virology and genetics.

I recently completed my PhD investigating the microorganisms that inhabit highly radioactive nuclear facilities. My Post Doc project is a continuation of this work, identifying what microorganisms are present in a nuclear fuel storage pond so that targeted control strategies can be employed.

IMG_135836683967175-1

My hobbies when not working are going to festivals in the summer, horses and horsey activities like shows and demonstrations.

My favourite microbe – a bit difficult to say, I guess anything that falls into the category of extremophile. I was also really interested in the discovery of Pithovirus – which is the largest known virus that was revived from Stone Age permafrost. I like the stuff that challenges what we know about the limitations of life.

Leave a comment